The Thaw (2009)


My Rating: 3/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Effects are so realistic, story is shit at the end, and from the makers of EVIL DEAD!”

A team of ecology students led by a famous environmental advocate learn that some secrets are better left buried when they unearth the perfectly preserved remains of a frozen wooly mammoth and discover that an ancient parasite has been incubating inside the beast for centuries. Dr. David Krupien (Val Kilmer) is examining a melting ice cap in the Arctic when he unearths a prehistoric specimen the likes of which researchers have never seen.

The ThawElated by the possibilities of such a remarkable find, Dr. Krupien hastily summons four of his brightest students to the base to take part in the excavation. But something isn’t right–soon after extracting the massive prehistoric creature from the ice, the students are besieged by a swarm of unidentified insects that burrow deep into the flesh and lay eggs in their host to reproduce.

The Thaw With each new infection, the prospect of containing the parasitic bane decreases. Now, stranded in the Arctic with their numbers quickly dwindling, the desperate students realize that their only hope of preventing the parasite from reaching the general population is to quarantine the base, even if it costs them their lives.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on December 5, 2009, in Apocalypse, Drama, Gory, Suspense, Thriller, Thriller/Suspense. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The subsequent time I read a weblog, I hope that it doesnt disappoint me as a lot as this one. I imply, I do know it was my option to read, however I actually thought youd have something interesting to say. All I hear is a bunch of whining about something that you may fix in case you werent too busy searching for attention.

  2. I wish to show my love for your generosity for persons who should have help on this particular field. Your personal commitment to passing the message all through appeared to be certainly interesting and have continuously made workers like me to reach their goals. Your new important key points indicates a whole lot to me and somewhat more to my peers. Thanks a ton; from all of us.

  3. Great post. I’ve still got so much to learn about all this stuff!

  4. Thanks for the info. Very good post!

Leave a Reply

