Suburban Girl (2007)

My Rating: 3/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “True Story, True Dreams, True climax!”

A brunette Sarah Michelle Gellar stars opposite Alec Baldwin in this romantic coming-of-age story loosely based on the popular Melissa Banks book THE GIRL’S GUIDE TO HUNTING AND FISHING. Gellar plays Brett Eisenberg, a young woman working her way up New York City’s publishing ladder. Eager to get ahead, Brett attends a book signing with hopes of meeting influential publishing giant Archie Knox (Alec Baldwin). No sooner do they trade glances than Archie is wooing Brett with extravagant dates, expensive gifts, and career assistance.

Suburban Girl

Suburban Girl

The relationship is a storybook romance from the start, but slowly gets much more complicated due to the age difference and Archie’s alcoholism. Viewers might initially struggle to relate to the young protagonist–things seem to come a bit too easily for Brett, who conveniently lives rent-free in her grandmother’s vacant and fancy Manhattan apartment. That said, it’s easy to understand why the filmmakers chose this scenario, as New York does look better through the eyes of privilege. It is a land mysteriously without subways, and where every building has a doorman.

Suburban Girl

Suburban Girl

The setting is contrived, but the romance manages to feel authentic. Watching Archie, anyone can see how a girl could easily swoon over him. Baldwin is extremely charming as a flawed but charismatic man close in age to Brett’s father. SUBURBAN GIRL is highly entertaining throughout, and a fine showcase for Baldwin, who, playing a character with eerie similarities to himself, is a joy to watch.


About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Digital Media Enthusiast, and yeah, also a Movie Freak. I own 2000+ movies. I watch movies every day, then I thought, "Why not talk about it?". There are lots of people who needs vital world class information on movies everyday - and here I'm!! I love movies, training, programming, designing, conceptualizing, imagining, and I love music. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on September 2, 2009, in comedy, Drama, romance. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. After examine just a few of the blog posts on your web site now, and I really like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site listing and will be checking again soon. Pls check out my website online as well and let me know what you think.

  2. There really is nothing in this world like approaching a nice new girl that you can share a fabulous connection with.

  3. Can I simply say what a aid to find someone who really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You positively know learn how to bring a problem to gentle and make it important. More folks must learn this and understand this aspect of the story. I cant imagine youre no more widespread since you definitely have the gift.

  4. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I wish to put in writing like this additionally – taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means seem to get one thing done.

  5. I think you have discovered the recipe to success with this post by focusing on the quality of the post and not the quantity of the words. Your post is both distinctive and useful.

  6. I totally love this piece of text. I must say that I utterly agree with Denises contribution above.

  7. I am really delighted to have found your article while searching for a couple of related literature for my school work. Please allow me to cite your article as a source, with proper acknowledgments. Hello from Estonia! Creative posts like this are truly priceless materials to us readers.

  8. You have cited a very sensible details , regards for the post.

  1. Pingback: Free Music for iPod

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,554 other followers

