Birds of America (2008)


My Rating: 2.5/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Nothing to say, a Family bonding formula which didn’t work much!”

In “normal” middle-class suburban families, kids grow up, move out, and visit only on special occasions. But Morrie Tanager never got to leave. His parents died and left him, and he became the parent, raising two siblings, Ida and Jay, in the home he now shares with his wife, Betty. So it’s not surprising this family is a bit askew. Ida is a promiscuous, broke, itinerant artist; Jay, an odd duck prone to antisocial experiments; and Morrie, a chronically constipated pleaser, who hasn’t had a bowel movement in ages. When Jay goes completely off the deep end and Ida drops in unannounced, the motley clan is thrust under one roof, and childhood dynamics reemerge. The big problem is that Ida and Jay’s recklessness could upend a delicate social ritual Morrie and Betty are masterminding to secure his tenure.

Birds of America

Birds of America

Birds of America is about socialization and growing up when there are no grown-ups. For Jay it means living within social boundaries and telling an occasional lie; for Ida it’s accountability for her actions, whereas Morrie must learn to loosen codes, assert the naked truth, and release responsibility to others. What’s so satisfying and moving in Craig Lucas’s eccentric, yet lyrical, comedy—besides the stellar cast— is the way the siblings’ transformations adjust the geometry of interdependence, and that genuine tenderness is the familial glue that ultimately bolsters each in the world.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on August 31, 2009, in comedy, Drama. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I was very happy to seek out this web-site.I wanted to thanks in your time for this wonderful learn!! I undoubtedly enjoying every little little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you weblog post.

  2. Needed to send you one very small observation just to give many thanks as before regarding the splendid thoughts you’ve documented at this time. It is incredibly open-handed of you to supply easily exactly what some people might have supplied as an e book to get some profit for their own end, specifically considering the fact that you might well have tried it if you ever wanted. Those tricks additionally served like a good way to be aware that some people have similar desire similar to my personal own to understand a great deal more with regard to this matter. I am certain there are lots of more fun moments ahead for those who go through your blog.

  3. There are some attention-grabbing deadlines on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity but I’ll take hold opinion till I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as properly

  4. Reading through this reminds me regarding my earlier room lover. That gentleman was one of the most legit men I understand, nonetheless this individual appeared to be a little weird for my likes though. Anyways Post loved reading this specific, thanks. Will give me personally some thing to travel directly into after i see your ex.

  5. I’ve been browsing the web more than 2 hours today, and this is the best article I’ve come across. I’m a content fiend so I’ve actually seen a lot already.In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made as great content as youhave, the web would bemuch more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

