Nim’s Island (2008)


My Rating: 3/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Adventurous and story book style!”

Based on the popular children’s novel of the same name by Wendy Orr, NIM’S ISLAND follows the adventures of Nim Rusoe (LITTLE MISS SUNSHINE’s Abigail Breslin), a spirited young girl who lives on a remote island with her scientist dad, Jack (300’s Gerard Butler), and a host of animal companions, including an iguana, a sea lion, and a sea turtle. Nim’s idyllic life gets shaken up, however, when her father goes missing while on an ocean outing. Seeking help to find Jack, Nim contacts her favorite literary hero, explorer Alex Rover (also played by Butler), who, in reality, is uptight–and distinctly unadventurous–author Alexa Rover (Jodie Foster). Against her better judgment, Alexa journeys to Nim’s faraway home, setting a series of thrilling and funny moments in motion.

Nim's Island

Nim's Island

Directed and written (in part) by the husband/wife team of Mark Levin and Jennifer Flackett, NIM’S ISLAND revels in its fanciful premise, never getting hung up on its unrealistic plot points. (E-mail on an extremely secluded island?) While Breslin and Butler are charming, the real revelation is witnessing the oft-serious Foster ham it up in a role requires plenty of slapstick, fish-out-of-water moments. Although teens might roll their eyes at NIM’S unapologetically sugary scenes, younger children will enjoy the giddy mood present of the ISLAND.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on June 15, 2009, in comedy, Drama, Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. me loves this movie and can segregate as a good film that I saw so far ❤ ❤ ❤ :|:| 🙂

  2. I bought for my sisters for Christmas and they really love this.

  3. 63. I am very happy to read this. This is the type of manual that needs to be given and not the random misinformation that’s at the other blogs. Appreciate your sharing this best doc.

  4. Excellent post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Cheers!

  5. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

Leave a Reply

