The Hunting Party (2007)


My Rating: 5/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Total political and the most thrilling Journalist movie so far!”

On the fifth anniversary of the end of the civil war in Bosnia, former hot-shot reporter Simon Hunt (Richard Gere) mysteriously shows up, five years after imploding on live television and disappearing into a self-imposed exile. Reunited with his cameraman, Duck (Terrence Howard), who has been promoted to a cushy studio gig working with anchorman Franklin Harris (James Brolin), Simon convinces Duck to go on a dangerous journey to get an interview with the wanted war criminal known as the Fox (Ljubomir Kerekes), based on the real-life Radovan Karadicz. They are joined by Ben (Jesse Eisenberg), the Harvard-educated nephew of a network executive who is in search of adventure and a good story. Together the three drive deep into Serb territory, facing more intrigue and danger than they ever could have imagined.

The Hunting Party

The Hunting Party

Writer-director Richard Shepard (THE MATADOR) loosely based THE HUNTING PARTY on an article Scott Anderson wrote for Esquire magazine entitled “What I Did on My Summer Vacation,” about five reporters who actually did go after Karadicz, and tried to capture him. Shepard infuses the film with a sly black humor and fills the story with a crazy cast of oddball characters, paying homage to Carol Reed’s THE THIRD MAN, which was set in postwar Vienna. The three leads are excellent, especially Gere, who plays Hunt with a knowing grin that often hides what he’s really up to. Shot on location in and around Sarajevo, lending the film an eerie reality, THE HUNTING PARTY–which claims at the beginning that “only the most ridiculous parts of this story are true”–is a fun, fascinating political thriller.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on June 6, 2009, in Action/Suspense, Drama, Gory, Thriller, True Stories. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. you might have an excellent blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my blog?

  2. I’d need to examine with you here. Which is not something I normally do! I take pleasure in reading a post that may make individuals think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  3. Would you mind if I quote a few of your blogposts as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your webpage: https://moviestudio.wordpress.com/2009/06/06/the-hunting-party-2007. I most certainly will aslo ensure to give you the appropriate anchortext link using your website title: The Hunting Party (2007) MovieStudio. Please let me know if this is okay with you. Thanks

Leave a Reply

