Valkyrie (2008)


My Rating : 5/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “An unforgettable story of honor and sacrifice!”

Based on a the true story of cadre of Nazi officers who grew to oppose Hitler’s murderous pursuits and made several attempts to kill him in the late stages of WWII, VALKYRIE features a top-flight… Based on a the true story of cadre of Nazi officers who grew to oppose Hitler’s murderous pursuits and made several attempts to kill him in the late stages of WWII, VALKYRIE features a top-flight cast, with drama and suspense in equal measure.

Valkyrie

Valkyrie

The film is a stylistic departure for director Bryan Singer (X-MEN, X2) and star Tom Cruise, with a screenplay by Christopher McQuarrie (THE USUAL SUSPECTS) and Nathan Alexander that is constructed like a heist film, with a team of like-minded men coming together for a common purpose and facing incredible odds. It is 1943, and though he has come to be disgusted by Hitler’s campaign of evil, Count Claus von Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) has risen to the level of lieutenant colonel in the German army.

Valkyrie

Valkyrie

Convinced that Hitler must die, Von Stauffenberg requests a transfer to Tunisia, where he loses his left eye and right hand during an Allied air raid. Falling in with a group of similarly disillusioned officers including Major General Henning von Tresckow (Kenneth Branagh), General Friedrich Olbricht (Bill Nighy), General Friedrich Fromm (Tom Wilkinson), and Colonel General Ludwig Beck (Terence Stamp), Stauffenberg is at the center of several attempts on Der Fuhrer’s life, culminating in a bombing that kills a handful of his officers and leaves Hitler only slightly injured.

Valkyrie

Valkyrie

Though advance photos of Cruise in Nazi uniform brought VALKYRIE negative publicity, his restrained performance is at the heart of this well-crafted, thinking person’s action movie. He is bolstered by an incredible British cast including Branagh, Stamp, and Wilkinson, and by the film’s dazzling art direction. Though it’s a story to which viewers should already know the ending, Singer still creates ample suspense. The result is a taut and effective historical thriller.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on March 28, 2009, in action, Drama, True Stories. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I’m still a fan of Tom Cruise no matter how many couches he jumps on!

  2. Tom Cruise was great in this, he usually is good, but he was great in this. I agree about the British cast specifically. I found the performances to be the highlight of the entire movie. I felt in lacked in some categories, but overall, I thought it was a well created movie with decent suspense, because you do know the ending you are constantly waiting for the inevitable. It’s a different kind of suspense.

  3. Shashank Lagvankar

    GREAT Movie….

    Watched 4 times…

    Concept is good and much interesting.

    Thanks ROSHAN…:)

  4. Aw, this was a very nice post. In thought I want to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make an excellent article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and certainly not appear to get something done.

  5. There is nothing that equals meeting up with a nice new female that one can share a wonderful connection with.

  6. Nice and highly creative, thanks for this.

  7. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Many thanksBirmingham Roofing Contractors, 3506 Inverness Landing, Birmingham, AL 35242 – (205) 301-2113

  8. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your
    website, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I had been
    tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear
    idea

  9. I want to express some appreciation to this writer for bailing me out of such a matter. Because of researching through the internet and seeing techniques that were not helpful, I assumed my life was well over. Existing devoid of the strategies to the difficulties you’ve solved all through this short post is a critical case, as well as those that would have in a wrong way damaged my entire career if I had not discovered your web site. Your good competence and kindness in controlling a lot of things was vital. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come upon such a thing like this. I can also at this time relish my future. Thank you so much for your impressive and result oriented help. I won’t hesitate to refer the sites to any individual who would like assistance about this subject matter.

Leave a Reply

