Philadelphia (1993)


My Rating : 5/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Wonderful, an Emotional Glory – Nothing Less!”

Tom Hanks plays Andrew Beckett, a hotshot Philadelphia lawyer who has been keeping his homosexuality, and his AIDS, hidden from his conservative bosses. When he’s suddenly and inexplicably fired,… Tom Hanks plays Andrew Beckett, a hotshot Philadelphia lawyer who has been keeping his homosexuality, and his AIDS, hidden from his conservative bosses. When he’s suddenly and inexplicably fired, Andrew suspects AIDS is the reason, and is determined to fight in court, even as he is losing his other battle, against the disease.

Philadelphia

Philadelphia

Beckett hires attorney Joe Miller (Denzel Washington) to represent him, but the lawyer must first overcome his own homophobia and fears. Director Jonathan Demme filmed this after winning the Oscar for SILENCE OF THE LAMBS.

Philadelphia

Philadelphia

The amazing cast includes Antonio Banderas, Joanne Woodward, and Jason Robards. Roger Corman and Charles Napier, both in LAMBS, make appearances. Bruce Springsteen’s haunting song “Streets of Philadelphia” plays over the memorable opening credits. This sensitive, moody film touches on a vast array of subjects surrounding gay and straight men, family, and death, without ever being maudlin or preachy, which is to its immense credit. An undoubted influence on society’s growing acceptance of homosexuality, PHILADELPHIA reminds us how far we’ve come in that direction, and how far we still need to go.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Drama, True Stories. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You made some first rate factors there. I looked on the internet for the difficulty and found most individuals will go along with with your website.

  2. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So nice to seek out any individual with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is something that is wanted on the internet, someone with a bit of originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  3. I precisely had to thank you so much yet again. I’m not certain the things that I would have implemented in the absence of those suggestions documented by you concerning that subject matter. It was actually a alarming difficulty in my opinion, but discovering your expert style you treated that forced me to leap over happiness. I’m just grateful for this information and thus have high hopes you realize what a great job you are always doing educating the others with the aid of a web site. I am certain you have never encountered all of us.

  4. It’s arduous to search out knowledgeable people on this matter, however you sound like you understand what you’re talking about! Thanks

  5. hi!,I like your writing very a lot! proportion we communicate extra about
    your article on AOL? I need an expert in this space to solve my problem.

    May be that is you! Taking a look forward to look you.

Leave a Reply

