The Tribe (2009)


My Rating : 3/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “Very scary and entertaining!”

The Tribe is an action/horror film in the vein of Predator. It tells the story of a young girl’s journey from a scared, co-dependent girl to a self-evolved, powerful woman. When we fist meet Liz, she is completely attached to her boyfriend Peter due to her fear of abandonment and lack of self-worth. Ever since her parents died this guy has been her best friend, lover, therapist, etc.. He is the be-all and end-all of her universe.

the tribe

the tribe

The problem is that he’s not as committed to her as she’d like him to be. As the film unfolds, we see their relationship become more and more strained. Liz is not sure why she is still with this guy – why she isn’t making something of her life. Just as she starts to question where she is, Peter does the unthinkable and proposes to her, offering her what she’s always wanted. Liz agrees… but the next morning, Peter is missing.

the tribe

the tribe

The horror that now transpires is just an inner reflection of Liz’s worst fear: having to fend for herself. One by one her friends (each of whom represent an aspect of her ego: Ira – insecure, Jake – opportunist, Lauren – prostitute) are picked off by some unseen force in the jungle. Halfway through the film, she comes face to face with Peter, who’s almost dead. He asks her to put him out of his misery. In this moment she gives birth to her inner strength, and fulfills his wish. In the second half of the film, Liz’s new-found strength is tested by the indigenous tribe that killed her friends. Like our hero, The Tribe’s greatest weakness is their dependence on their Alpha Male. When Liz defeats the Alpha Male, she renders The Tribe useless.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Rich Media Expert and a Movie Enthusiast. I watch movies every day so why not talk about it? Right?. I love movies, training, programming, designing, ideating and I love photography. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on March 22, 2009, in horror, Suspense, Thriller, Thriller/Suspense. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. This sounds kinda wacked out and I have to admit that I’m a little interested now!

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here different website and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page again.

  3. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  4. I every time used to study post in news papers but now as I
    am a user of internet thus from now I am using net for
    content, thanks to web.

  1. Pingback: Free Music for iPod

Leave a Reply

