Ghost Town (2008)

My Rating : ***.5

MovieStudio Quote >> “Simply Hilarious a Ghost Story can be!”

Director and screenwriter David Koepp (STIR OF ECHOES, SECRET WINDOW) brings Ricky Gervais, Greg Kinnear, and Téa Leoni together for a romantic comedy with a twist of the supernatural. Dr. Bertram… Director and screenwriter David Koepp (STIR OF ECHOES, SECRET WINDOW) brings Ricky Gervais, Greg Kinnear, and Téa Leoni together for a romantic comedy with a twist of the supernatural. Dr. Bertram Pincus (Gervais) doesn’t like people very much. In fact, the antisocial dentist does everything he can to avoid interaction with other human beings. Unfortunately, he gets more than he bargained for when he is released from the hospital after undergoing a standard procedure: he can see dead people, and they can see him.

Ghost Town

Ghost Town

Suddenly, every ghost in New York City wants Pincus to help clean up their unfinished business. Dapper Frank (Kinnear) is the most persistent ghost, badgering Pincus to help keep his widow, Gwen (Leoni), from making a big mistake. Gervais is perfect as Pincus, whose deadpan expressions make obvious his disdain for people. His comic timing is spot on throughout the film. Kinnear makes Frank likable, not an easy feat since he apparently wasn’t such an upstanding guy when he was alive and married to Leoni’s Gwen.

Ghost Town

Ghost Town

Aasif Mandvi appears as a dentist sharing Gervais’s office, and Billy Campbell is Gwen’s new love interest. SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE star Kristen Wiig is a scene-stealer as Pincus’s surgeon, particularly when she is trying to avoid telling her patient what went wrong during his procedure. Dana Ivey and Alan Ruck also appear as ghosts in need of help.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Digital Media Enthusiast, and yeah, also a Movie Freak. I own 2000+ movies. I watch movies every day, then I thought, "Why not talk about it?". There are lots of people who needs vital world class information on movies everyday - and here I'm!! I love movies, training, programming, designing, conceptualizing, imagining, and I love music. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on December 14, 2008, in comedy, Romance/Comedy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. you have a great blog right here! would you wish to make some invite posts on my blog?

  2. Im by using a little issue I cant subscribe your feed, Im using google reader fyi. My mate and that i have been just talking over this excellent topic, she happens to be continually endeavouring to prove me incorrect! I will show her this kind of post let alone rub it in the little!

  3. Couldn’t agree with you more!

  4. I tend not to drop a lot of remarks, but I browsed a lot of comments on this page Ghost Town (2008) | MovieStudio.
    I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright. Is it simply me or does it seem like some of these responses appear like they are written by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting at additional social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything new you have
    to post. Would you make a list of every one of all your social community pages
    like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,554 other followers

