Saw V (2008)

My Rating : ****

MovieStudio Quote >> “You surely won’t believe how it ends!”

Continuing on with its story despite the death of namesake killer Jigsaw in the third installment, SAW V concerns itself with detailing who will carry on with his bloody work. Director David Hackl, the production designer on the previous three films, retains their familiar charnel house look.

saw 5

saw 5

Though there are fewer grisly death sequences, faithful viewers will enjoy the creative plot twists. The film opens with a man strapped to a table above a pendulum. As the sharp blade begins swinging over his stomach, he has only a minute to stop it by inserting his hands into a device that will crush them. When the machine malfunctions, it’s clear that it wasn’t the work of the meticulous Jigsaw. Meanwhile, FBI Agent Strahm (Scott Patterson) continues the investigation he began in the previous film, only to wake up to find himself wearing a glass helmet filled with water.

saw 5

saw 5

With a minimum of self-mutilation, he escapes and continues his investigation with the hunch that Detective Hoffman (Costas Mandylor) is somehow involved in the new rash of killings. Before long, a new group of strangers wakes up in Jigsaw’s lair to face a series of brutal tests, and Jigsaw’s ex-wife, Jill, is given a mysterious box at the execution of his will. An enormously popular and critic-proof series, SAW gives its fans what they want–creatively executed blood and guts. The fifth installment in as many years, SAW V is more subdued in that department, but the sequences it does contain deliver the goods. Several lengthy flashbacks also allow Jigsaw (Tobin Bell) to make a few appearances. While SAW V isn’t the place for beginners to start, those who have stuck with the story this far will find it a fitting entry, happy that SAW VI is just around the bend.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Digital Media Enthusiast, and yeah, also a Movie Freak. I own 2000+ movies. I watch movies every day, then I thought, "Why not talk about it?". There are lots of people who needs vital world class information on movies everyday - and here I'm!! I love movies, training, programming, designing, conceptualizing, imagining, and I love music. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on November 20, 2008, in Gory, horror, Thriller/Suspense and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just wanted to construct a simple word so as to appreciate you for those fantastic ideas you are showing at this website. My incredibly long internet lookup has finally been paid with wonderful facts to exchange with my family and friends. I ‘d declare that we site visitors are very lucky to live in a perfect place with many perfect individuals with useful tricks. I feel very much privileged to have come across your entire webpage and look forward to some more brilliant minutes reading here. Thank you again for all the details.

  2. Aw, this was a really nice post. In thought I wish to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to get one thing done.

  3. There are some fascinating cut-off dates in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There may be some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

  4. I calculate a lot of number gathering for these types of games because I feel that history will usually give us an insight of what can happen in the future. As you may or may not know it may be really hard to figure out the winning team in the NFL. This is why I recommend using trends for football.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,554 other followers

