The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (2008)

My Rating : 5/5 STARS
MovieStudio Quote >> “An amazing story of Childhood innocence, Sacrifice and timeless friendship!”

Based on the novel by John Boyne, THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS is a wrenching Holocaust story about a young German boy and his forbidden friendship with a Jewish child. Bruno (Asa Butterfield) is… Based on the novel by John Boyne, THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS is a wrenching Holocaust story about a young German boy and his forbidden friendship with a Jewish child. Bruno (Asa Butterfield) is living a charmed life in Berlin as the son of a high-ranking Nazi soldier, when his father (David Thewlis) is suddenly transferred to a job out in the country. Bruno, as well as his sister Gretel (Amber Beattie) and mother (Vera Farmiga) must all join him at his new post. Bruno is lonely and confused by his new surroundings, and he doesn’t understand why he can’t wander the grounds or play at a nearby farm.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

The “farm,” of course, is a concentration camp, though Bruno doesn’t know this. He soon sneaks away to explore, and meets Shmuel (Jack Scanlon) a prisoner of the camp. Shmuel is eight, the same age as Bruno, and the two form a timid, careful friendship, playing checkers and catch through the barbed wire fence. Bruno knows that his friendship with Shmuel is dangerous, but after witnessing brutal violence perpetrated against some very kind people, he has begun to question the Nazi doctrine of hate.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

He is no longer sure what to make of his soldier father, whom he once believed to be a hero. When he learns that Shmuel is in trouble, he vows to help him, and together the boys form an outrageous plan that culminates in the film’s devastating climax. Farmiga and Thewlis put in excellent performances, while Scanlon and Butterfield, are equally impressive, doing a fine job of carrying the weight of such a heavy film. The BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS is a deeply moving and–it must be said–disturbing movie. But it is a remarkable story, told with masterly intelligence and grace.

About moviestudio

I'm a Tech Advisor, Digital Media Enthusiast, and yeah, also a Movie Freak. I own 2000+ movies. I watch movies every day, then I thought, "Why not talk about it?". There are lots of people who needs vital world class information on movies everyday - and here I'm!! I love movies, training, programming, designing, conceptualizing, imagining, and I love music. I'm a promising movie enthusiast, trust me!!

Posted on March 1, 2009, in Drama, Suspense. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. The movie is wonderful but the book is even more masterful. You truly ‘hear’ the story from the perspective of a young child with no idea what is going on. It is a moving story both on film and in print – worth reading even if you are not a reader!

  3. Hi Mike and Allison,

    I’m so happy you guys liked my site and the movie. I loved the movie too. Have a great day!

  4. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language ;)
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

  5. the movie was good but at the end it skipped parts and went to fast.

  6. :)

    p.s my sis said shes going to die from high cholesteral and she is 13 years old ( she was fooling around )

  7. My English class at school did this (and still doing) this book as sort of a project thing. It acutally has more depth and meaning than you think. If you think about what shmuel said on page 128 and 129 and about how Lietuenant beats Pavel up, there is more depth than you think to that aswell. This is a powerful book, I wouldn’t recomend this to anyone under the age of 12. This is truly an upsetting book that is all about division and just being different and how this tears us upart.
    But this is an amazing book, :D

    • i tink i get the depth but im not sure its right is it foreshadow maybe not but i did enjoy the book im on 2nd timeon chapter 11 i finishd in 2 days yesteday now im reading again started today

  8. It really is a truly powerful and amazing book. I’d have to say one of the most powerful and moving books I have ever read! I could also not agree more with it being slightly inappropriate for anyone under than 12, they just wouldn’t fully understand it.

  9. the movie was boring

  10. 35. Magnificent web site. Plenty of helpful information here. Iˇ¦m sending it to some buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you on your effort!

  11. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by accident, while I was looking on Digg for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  12. I absolutely LOVED the movie! It was so moving :’)

  13. Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic but I was
    wondering which blog platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed
    up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking
    at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you
    could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    • Hi, I’m using WordPress. The best thing would be to install Akismet in your so blog and change the password to something unbreakable. I have been using this for the past 8 years I think. I keep changing my password every year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,569 other followers

